【Industrial Media】Test: Analysis / Reflection 4

Clip 1

Screen Shot 2014-10-17 at 12.38.10 pm Screen Shot 2014-10-17 at 12.38.57 pm

This is a video clip I made for Post Industrial Media course. There are two layers of videos in this clip. I adjusted RGB curves of major layer (which is the story world of this video clip) into black and white and tried to give it a Film noir feeling, while the small frame on top right is the real world of filmmaker recorded from second person perspective. I choose not to modify its color; hence there is a contrast between story world and story world.

Clip 2

Screen Shot 2014-10-17 at 12.40.37 pm Screen Shot 2014-10-17 at 12.41.17 pm

In this video I adjusted the RGB curves to change its original color into slightly green and yellow, hence to give it a vintage style looking. It is the haiku video I made for the Industrial Media and the theme I choose was “Time and Illusion”, I believe such color would help to strengthen the theme.

Clip 3

Screen Shot 2014-10-17 at 12.35.50 pm Screen Shot 2014-10-17 at 12.35.57 pm

This is a video clip I made for my friend from a travel agency which is about the starry sky of Great Ocean Road. The original video is too bright and would distract audience’s attention from stars, hence I adjusted the Luma Waveform and made it darker, so as to strengthen the existence of stars.

Clip 4

Screen Shot 2014-10-17 at 12.32.31 pm Screen Shot 2014-10-17 at 12.32.42 pm

This is the video I made for Industrial Media task 1. Our team forgot to adjust the white balance before shooting hence the colors turned out very yellow. I adjusted the Blue and Red curves of RGB curves to change its colors.

Conclusion:

Color Grading and Lighting are essential techniques for media practitioners to master. They can help to set the tone, strengthen the theme as well as fix mistakes made during shooting.

Leave a Reply

